What is your Cornelia Street?

Chris
3 min readMar 15, 2021

--

Taylor Swift has a way of putting words to feelings you knew you had but never knew how to express. She performs this magic in the song “Cornelia Street” from her album Lover. In this song she describes the street in West Village she used to live on with her current boyfriend, Joe Alwyn. She writes:

And I hope I never lose you, hope it never ends
I’d never walk Cornelia Street again.

Taylor could have written Romeo and Juliet but Shakespeare could never have written Cornelia Street

We all have our own Cornelia Streets. Better put: we all have totally normal things that now become triggers due to people in our past. Mine include the Yurman rings, Chelsea Park basketball courts, and all things astronomy related.

Brb, adding “Green Texts” to this list asap

If you’re a good friend of mine, there’s a decent chance you got a text this week resembling this. I figured no better way to generate good content than to let my friends do it for me. (No, this definitely has nothing to do with me just being busy this week and not having time to write a full article alone). So the following is the best “Cornelia Streets” from my friends, grouped in categories with my commentary in bold.

Food/Drink

“Finally tried that Pad Thai Recipe you taught me. We really shouldn’t get thai’d up in the past when we could be padding our potential future together. Hope your mom is doing well”
  • Bubble Tea
  • Ikea ice cream
  • Salmon
  • Applebees
  • Pad thai- I saw him make it the way I taught him for another girl on instagram last month and almost threw my phone

Red Flags (You should have known this was coming)

He simply HAD to do it to them. There was no choice
  • Vineyard Vines
  • Air Mattresses
  • K names
  • Pale men
  • Lawyers
  • Mopeds (Christian Bubble A&M is Shaking)
  • The laughing emoji
  • Henleys
  • Texting on Snapchat
  • Mustangs

Locations

Dating a guy in Brooklyn counts as a long distance relationship
  • StuyTown (This honestly belongs in the Red Flag group)
  • Skyhouse Dallas (This feels targeted)
  • The corner of 29th and Park
  • P.Terrys
  • Mykanos
  • The L Train (Honestly you deserve this for dating a Brooklyn boy)

Music

This also belongs in the Red Flag Category tbh
  • The song Hallelujah
  • JP Saxe
  • Stacy’s Mom
  • Folklore
  • Soundcloud- he “made me a playlist” but then I found out there were other girls invited to the same playlist :/

Miscellaneous

Do the dance, Pete.
  • My own dog’s name (the nickname that we use most for him something that my ex came up with)
  • Blue Stan Smith shoes
  • Wii Bowling
  • Bed Bath and Body works Sweater Weather candle
  • A specific tractor in Rochester, NY
  • The play Rent
  • Anything British ***Meghan Markle has entered the Chat***
  • Pete Buttigieg
  • The drive to College Station and the sign with his last name on it

Writing this has also given me a chance to think about the Cornelia Streets that I have left girls over the years. So… I’m eternally sorry to any girl for ruining Big Bootie Mixes, Chelsea Market, merlot, and the cute pink house outside my window. All of those things are awesome though, so I hope you can Shake it Off.

--

--